Patagonia, December 16 2018
Home > Northeast > IguazĂș > The New Wonder of the World

The New Wonder of the World

Iguazu Falls in Argentina, were finally honored as one of the New Seven Natural Wonders of the World, at a party hosted within Iguazu National Park, with the impressive “Devil’s Throat ” as the background.

The festivities began with fireworks in Puerto IguazĂș, on the banks of the river IguazĂș.

The main ceremony took place in front of hundreds of tourists, residents of nearby towns and media in general. Also, it was the final concert of the festival “Falls in Concert”, directed by Andrea Merenson of the Colon Theatre, and the Oscar winning musician Gustavo Santaolalla, who played movie soundtracks such as “Fantasy,” “Titanic” and “The Mission”, which by the way was filmed in 1987 at the Iguazu Falls.

Previously, the governor of the argentine Misiones province, where the Falls are, and the representatives of N7W discovered a bronze plaque of 130 kilos. An identical plaque was uncovered in the Gramadao, a huge forested park near the Brazilian city of Foz de Iguazu.

The Minister of Tourism, Enrique Meyer said that “official recognition” of Iguazu Falls “is a before and after for Argentina” and he hopes soon IguazĂș positions itself as “one of the great tourist attractions of South America”.

Meanwhile, the president of the foundation “New 7 Wonders” announced that its purpose is to build a Museum of the Seven Wonders of Nature and theme parks in each of these places.

During 2011 the Falls were visited by about 1 million tourists from all over the world.
The Falls were chosen as one of the natural wonders of the world last November 11 along with the Amazon Forest, Ha Long Bay (Vietnam), Jeju Island (South Korea), Komodo National Park (Indonesia ), the Table Mountain (South Africa) and Puerto Princesa (Philippines).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Patagonia Tours
In and out transfers at every destination. 3 nights lodging in Buenos Aires. 3 nights lodging in El Calafate. 3 nights lodging in Ushuaia. 3 nights lodging in IguazĂș....
Transfers airport / hotel / airport and 3 Hotel nights in each city, with breakfast included. Excursions: Perito Moreno Glacier and Glaciers National Park. South Wall of Glacier...
Transfers in/out. 3 hotel nights with breakfast. Excursion to Perito Moreno Glacier and National Park. Nautical Safari. Excursion Upsala Glacier Discovery or Gourmet Glaciers Experience Bilingual (Spanish-English) professional...
Departure and arrival transfers at both destinations. A two night hotel stay in IguazĂș and three in El Calafate with breakfast. Excursions: In El Calafate: visit...
3 hotel nights at each destination with breakfast. Transfers in/out at the 3 destinations. Excursion to Península de Valdés. Whale Watching navigation (July to November)...
4 days, 3 hotel nights with breakfast. Taxes. Transfers in/out airport-hotel-airport at Puerto Madryn. Excursion to Península de Valdés. Excursion Punta Tombo (penguins colony)